Canarian Folklore: Santiguado Hex-Breaking Ritual

About The Word Santiguado

In the Canary Islands, we speak a dialect of Spanish, so we have plenty of vocabulary that only we use, and that is very difficult to translate into English. Although I use the word Curandera to define my work and tradition, Curandera is only the regular Spanish term; in our dialect, a Curandera/o is called a Santiguador (male) or Santiguadora (female), a word that could be translated as he/she who makes (someone or something) holy.

The tradition of Santiguado (or, Canarian Curanderismo), as most ancient healing traditions, mixes prayer, ritual and herbal lore on equal parts. In a completely holistic way, the treatment for any illness is applied equally to body, mind and spirit, as we deeply believe that what happens in one of those areas always affects the others. Spiritual illness that is created by a curse, if not treated, easily becomes physical or mental illness; just so, physical or mental illness turn the patient into a very easy prey for parasitic entities and harmful magic. In this blog post, I will describe a hex-breaking ritual of our tradition in detail; after the ritual, you will find a message about the topic of hex-breaking, that I have written specifically for my customers.

Santiguado Hex-Breaking Ritual

Herbal Treatment:

  • A bottle of red wine;
  • Three eggs, laid on the day the work is done;
  • A handful of each of these herbs, fresh or dry: Tea (Camelia Sinensis), Lemon tree leaves, Orange tree leaves, Basil (Ocimum Basilicum) and Grapevine leaves (Vitis Vinifera).

The mixture is slowly cooked together until the wine reduces its volume in half. Once it has reduced, it is filtered, and then three stones from the furnace that are red hot are placed in the liquid to remove any negative energies from it. The patient must keep this mixture in the fridge and drink a small cup every morning, before having any other food or drink.

Ritual And Prayer:

The patient sits in front of the Santiguadora, a pot filled with water placed between them. The Santiguadora makes the sign of the cross continuously over the water with the right hand, while reciting the prayer below seven times in a row.

I have added the prayer both in Canarian dialect and English. All words between brackets on the English translation are added by me to make the meaning of the prayer easier to understand.

” Si en la cruz te mato, con la cruz me das vida, con el Espíritu Santo, y la Virgen María.

¡Oh Madre de los Remedios! ¡Madre de los pecadores! Remédiame lo que tengo, y quítame los dolores.

Cuando vayas a misa, y entres en la iglesia, ¿Qué es lo primero que rezas? Un Padre Nuestro y un Avemaría.”

If on the cross you are killed, with the cross you give me life, along with the Holy Spirit, and the Virgin Mary.

Oh Mother of all remedies! Mother of all sinners! Heal my ailment, and remove my pains.

When you go to mass, and enter the church, what’s the first prayer you say? A Holy Father and a Hail Mary.”

Then, the water is thrown away at a crossroads, saying:

Esta agua bendita, que te riego aquí, que te pongas buena, y no se me pegue a mí.”

This holy water, that I spill here, (for) you are healed (and so the ailment) doesn’t stick to me”

After the ritual is done, the patient must do something for the Spirits; usually, a mass at the town’s church is the tradition, on behalf of the Souls Of Purgatory (Anima Sola), but if the Santiguadora/Curandera has an altar, the patient can purchase candles, flowers and/or fruit, and offer them to the Spirits in the Curandera’s altar.

A Reflection On Hex-Breaking: To My Customers

I tend to give my customers as much agency over the Services they get done as I can, not only because I am not here to judge that, but also because I firmly believe that nobody knows better what we need than ourselves. I cannot count the times that a customer has approached me with the feeling of something going wrong in their lives, whether as the result of a curse or as the result of negative Spirit activity, and were completely right about it – actually, so many times that I do not request a pre-spell reading for hex-breaking work any more, unless the customer wants it.

I believe in my customers, because:

a) in the cases where the reading was actually done, only 1 out of 100 or less was wrong;

b) because I believe that it was their Spirit Guides who guided them to look for help;

c) because simply, I believe them. I have no reason not to. The people I work for have shown me, time after time, that they are to be trusted with such intuitions. My customers are not paranoid people seeing enemies everywhere; they are conscious, intuitive and empowered people using the Services I offer. Harmful magic is something very real, and its damage can be irreversible; they don’t take it lightly, and they know that neither do I.

So, if you are reading this, and feel that you may be under the influence of negative works or negative entities, please don’t wait to get help, and don’t try to fix it yourself, because you are not in the situation to do so. In these situations, it’s always one hundred times safer to seek help from outside, and allow someone else to fight the enemy. Someone who actually knows how to do their job.

And, please allow me to insist on this: people with grave physical and/or mental illness can also be the victim of harmful magic and/or negative entities, just as anyone – and in my opinion, even more, because their defenses are weakened. You wouldn’t believe how many times people with mental illnesses are just not believed when they speak about this. So, if you feel you are in any kind of situation where you cannot trust your own judgement, get a reading with an expert professional, and if you are right (which, as I said, it is very likely), get hex-breaking work done as soon as possible.

**********************************************

My Main Website: brujacarolina.com – Tarot and Spiritual Services

Art And Illustration Portfolio: The Art Of Carolina Gonzalez

Social Networks:  Facebook   ·  Twitter  ·   Tumblr ·   Google+  ·  Flickr

2 thoughts on “Canarian Folklore: Santiguado Hex-Breaking Ritual

  1. I really love learning about the magical identity of your region, it’s amazing to see so much in common between our cultures ^_^

    Have a wonderful day, and best blessings on you

    Like

Thanks For Your Comments!

