Recycling Projects: Plein Air Watercolour Box

dscn2569

Although our summer lasts usually until mid November, temperatures are going back from Unbrereable Hell to just hot :). While most of my readers are feeling Autumn in the air already (lucky you!), we are beginning a second spring – it’s time for barbeques, walks in Nature, a bit of wildharvesting (mostly seeds and fruits), and my favourite end of summer activity – outdoor painting. This week, I made a small portable watercolour set with a box found in the trash, and I thought it would make a lovely post, so here are the details:

dscn2560

Above, the box as found. It measures 30 x 18 cms. (12×7 inches)  per side, which is more or less like a cigar box.

dscn2564

The first task was to create a palette for the watercolour paints, so I don’t have to carry the very heavy box of tubes. It was made with a small tin, where I glued eye shadow containers that I took from an old make up set. Below, you can see a small amount of my chosen colours on each container – these are left to dry, and just rewetted with the brush when needed. It may look like very little paint, but believe me, you don’t need more. The tin’s lid will be used as the mixing palette.

dscn2567

Besides the watercolour palette, the lower tray has been filled with brushes, a couple of pencils, a cotton rag, a marker, an eraser, a pencil sharpener, and a small plastic container for water. The only thing missing would be a bottle filled with water, but since I always carry one when I go out for drinking, there was no need to add one here.

dscn2571

On the upper tray, I fixed a piece of flat elastic with two tacks, and placed a piece of board cut to size (that will be the support while I work), a few pieces of watercolour paper, and a small notebook. If I want a bigger painting pad, I will carry it separately.

dscn2572

The following day the palette was dry, so I gave the whole kit a test in my roof terrace – as you can see in the pic below, the test was a complete success and I really enjoyed working in my garden :). This kit is going to get lots of use, I can already tell you that! Below the picture, a scan of the finished watercolour, named Philodendron.

dscn2599

philodendron-sm-wm

As you can see, this is super easy, really cheap, all made with things found in the house, and you can make many different versions of it depending on your needs and painting/drawing media (for example, changing the watercolours for colour pencils or chalk pastels). And, it’s so small that you can use it everywhere – at your favourite coffee place, in Nature, on holidays, even in your car; with projects like this one, there are very few valid excuses for not working on your art!

dscn2569

**********************************************

My Main Website: brujacarolina.com – Tarot and Spiritual Services

Social Networks:  Facebook   ·  Twitter  ·   Tumblr ·   Google+

Guardar

Guardar

Guardar

Guardar

Guardar

Guardar

Guardar

Guardar

Guardar

Guardar

Guardar

Guardar

4 thoughts on “Recycling Projects: Plein Air Watercolour Box

Thanks For Your Comments!

